Membership Affairs Committee


Shelby Melton Shelby Melton, MD,  (Chair)
VA North Texas Health Care System

The AMP Membership Affairs Committee (MAC) provides recommendations to Board and assistance to other committees regarding matters of membership and professional development. The committee plays an important role in helping AMP respond to the needs of its members and in facilitating the development of leaders in the field of molecular pathology.

Ongoing Responsibilities Include:

  • Assesses and makes recommendations that will enhance the professional development of AMP members and the benefits of AMP membership
  • Provides regular and timely notification to members about opportunities for special projects within or outside of standing committees and subdivisions
  • Facilitates leadership development for AMP through various initiatives such as the ad hoc and junior member volunteer process
  • Receives requests from Chairs or Board for ad hoc members to work on projects and manages the volunteer application process
  • Surveys member volunteers annually regarding their volunteer service experiences
  • Surveys the membership periodically regarding how well their membership in AMP is meeting their needs and how well AMP is serving the needs of the profession
  • Conducts a member recruitment and retention program


Committee Members - 2019-2020

If you are interested in serving on the Membership Affairs Committee, please see the various roles available and the responsibilities of each role by clicking here.

Shelby Melton, MD
VA North Texas Health Care System


Elizabeth Azzato, MD, PhD
Cleveland Clinic Laboratories

Yi Ding, MD, PhD
Geisinger Medical Center

James Fuller, PhD
Lighthouse Lab Services

Lisa M. Haley, MS
The Johns Hopkins Hospital

Cristiane M. Ida, MD
Mayo Clinic

Giovanni Insuasti, MD
Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center

Irene Newsham, PhD
MD Anderson Cancer Center

Nikoletta Sidiropoulos, MD
University of Vermont Medical Center

Yaolin Zhou, MD
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

Junior Member
Talent Theparee, MD
NorthShore University HealthSystem


Rami Mahfouz (IAC Liaison)
American University of Beirut Medical Center

Cynthia L Jackson, PhD (T&E Liaison)
Lifespan Academic Medical Center


Ex Officio Committee Members

Antonia R. Sepulveda, MD, PhD
George Washington University Department of Pathology

Executive Director
Mary Steele Williams, MNA, MT(ASCP)SM



Corporate Partners