Training & Education Committee


Nathanael G. Bailey, MD (Chair)
University of Pttsburgh Medical Center

The Training & Education Committee oversees important issues such as certification in molecular pathology, mentoring of trainees, and education in molecular pathology.

Responsibilities, projects, and accomplishments include:

  • Selecting the Young Investigator at the Annual Meeting
  • Addressing training and certification requirements
  • Compiling curriculum materials
  • Developing workshops and continuing education opportunities
  • Surveying educational offerings in molecular pathology
  • Communicating with the American Board of Pathology and other certification agencies.

More information about the activities of the Training & Education Committee can be found in the Committee Report section of the AMP Newsletter.


Committee Members - 2020

If you are interested in serving on the Training & Education Committee, please see the various roles available and the responsibilities of each role by clicking here.

Nathanael G. Bailey, MD
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center

Yassmine Akkari, PhD
Legacy Health

Genetics Subdivision Representative (2019-2020)
Alanna Church, MD
Harvard Medical School

Genetics Subdivision Representative (2020-2021)
Honey V Reddi, PhD
Medical College of Wisconsin

Hematopathology Subdivision Representative (2019-2020)
Kristin Hunt Karner, MD
University of Utah

Hematopathology Subdivision Representative (2020-2021)
Nathan Montgomery, MD PhD
University of North Carolina School of Medicine 

Infectious Diseases Subdivision Representative (2019-2020)
Erin Graf, PhD
The University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine

Infectious Diseases Subdivision Representative (2020-2021)
Gerald Capraro, PhD
Carolinas Health System

Informatics Subdivision Representative (2019-2020)
Sabah Kadri, PhD
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago

Informatics Subdivision Representative (2020-2021)
Weiwei Zhang, PhD
Univeristy of Nebraska Medical Center

Solid Tumors Subdivision Representative (2019-2020)
Christian Kunder, MD, PhD
Stanford University Medical Center

Solid Tumors Subdivision Representative (2020-2021)
Lauren Ritterhouse, MD PhD
Massachuettes General Hospital 

Junior Member (2019-2020)
Cinthya Zepeda Mendoza, MD
Mayo Clinic

Junior Member (2020-2021)
Annie Garcia, MD
Baylor College of Medicine

Medical Technologist Member (2019-2020)
Barbara Anderson, MS
Duke University Health Systems

Medical Technologist Member (2020-2021)
Lisa Haley, MS, MB(ASCP)CM
Johns Hopkins University

Representative to the Membership Affairs Committee
Cynthia Jackson, PhD
Rhode Island Hospital

Representative to the International Affairs Committee
Roberta Sitnik, PhD
Hospital Israelita Albert Einstein, Brasil

Ex Officio Committee Members

Karen Weck, MD
Univeristy of North Carolina 

Executive Director
Mary Steele Williams, MNA, MT(ASCP)SM

Corporate Partners