Clinical Practice Overview


Jane Gibson Jane Gibson, PhD, FACMG (Chair)
University of Central Florida College of Medicine

The Clinical Practice Committee is comprised of AMP members with expertise in one or more of the molecular specialties: infectious diseases, hematopathology, solid tumors, genetics and informatics. Its purpose is to address the challenges of clinical laboratories and, therefore, improve the service we provide. Separate working groups plan, organize and coordinate efforts such as sample exchanges, reporting surveys, validation and quality control measures. The committee meets monthly by conference call and at the annual meeting to address these issues pertaining to the clinical practice of molecular pathology.

Ongoing Responsibilities Include:

  • Clinical Practice Working Groups provide an important service to AMP members by reviewing, analyzing, and presenting data that guides current test reporting and interpretation practices.
  • AMP External Representatives provide subject matter expertise and AMP's organizational participation on collaborative initiatives led by other professional organizations and/or stakeholder groups.

If you have an idea or a suggestion for a new project, please let us know.


Committee Members - 2021-2022

If you are interested in serving on the Clinical Practice Committee, please see the various roles available and the responsibilities of each role by clicking here.

Jane Gibson, PhD, FACMG
University of Central Florida College of Medicine

Genetics Subdivision Representative
Steven M. Sperber, PhD
SUNY Upstate Medical University

Genetics Subdivision Representative
Diana Mandelker, MD, PhD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Hematopathology Subdivision Representative
Michael Joseph Kluk, MD, PhD
Weill Cornell Medicine, New York Presbyterian Hospital

Hematopathology Subdivision Representative
Rena R. Xian, MD
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Infectious Diseases Subdivision Representative

Blake W. Buchan, PhD
The Medical College of Wisconsin and Wisconsin Diagnostic Laboratories

Infectious Diseases Subdivision Representative
Karissa Culbreath, PhD
TriCore Reference Laboratories and University of New Mexico School of Medicine

Informatics Subdivision Representative
Elaine Gee, PhD
BigHead Analytics Group

Informatics Subdivision Representative
Sabah Kadri, PhD

Solid Tumors Subdivision Representative
David A. Eberhard, MD, PhD
Illumina Inc. and University of North Carolina

Solid Tumors Subdivision Representative
Navid Sadri, MD, PhD
University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center

Junior Member
Jack Tung, MD, PhD
Stanford University

Lauren Miller
Medical College of Wisconsin

Ex Officio Committee Members

Daniel E. Sabath, MD, PhD
University of Washington Medical Center

Executive Director
Mary Steele Williams, MNA, MT(ASCP)SM

Corporate Partners