Economic Affairs Committee


Samuel Caughron, MD Samuel Caughron, MD (Chair)
MAWD Pathology Group, P.A.

The purpose of the Economic Affairs Committee (EAC) is to address, advise, and educate the AMP Board of Directors, membership, payers, legislators, and the public on economic issues of importance to the field of molecular pathology, to prepare documents of importance to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), and to develop and advocate for sound economic policies that promote the provision of high quality molecular pathology services. The Committee's scope encompasses short and long-term issues associated with utilization of and coverage for billing codes used in molecular pathology, to the potential economic impact of public policy decisions on molecular pathology practice. The Committee will interact with the American Medical Association and other interested organizations in order to achieve our common goals.

More information about the activities of theEconomic Affairs Committee can be found in the Committee Report section of the AMP Newsletter.


Committee Members - 2019-2020

If you are interested in serving on the Economic Affairs Committee, please see the various roles available and the responsibilities of each role by clicking here.

Samuel K. Caughron, MD
MAWD Pathology Group, P.A.

Vice Chair: Coverage Decisions
Pranil Chandra, DO
PathGroup, LLC

Vice Chair: New Codes and Pricing
Anthony Sireci, MD, MSc
Loxo Oncology



Jennifer Dien Bard, PhD
Children's Hospital Los Angeles

Rajyasree Emmadi, MD
University of Illinois of Chicago

Andrea Ferreira-Gonzalez, PhD
Virginia Commonwealth Univ/MCV Clinical Support Center

Tanner Hagelstrom, PhD, MBA

Matthew Hiemenz, MD
Children's Hospital of Los Angeles

Susan Hsaio, MD, PhD
Columbia University Medical Center

Lloyd Hutchinson, PhD
University of Massachusetts, UMASS Memorial Medical Center

Loren Joseph, MD
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Elaine Lyon, PhD
HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology

Federico Monzon, MD
Castle Biosciences

Jay Patel, MD
ARUP Laboratories

Richard Press, MD, PhD
Oregon Health & Science University

Aparna Rajadhyaksha, MD

Oana Rosca, MD
Northwell Health System, NY

Katherine Tynan, PhD
Tynan Consulting, LLC


Junior Member
Salvatore Priore, MD, PhD
University of Pennsylvania

Committee Advisors
Jan Nowak, MD, PhD
Roswell Park Cancer Institute

Aaron D. Bossler, MD, PhD
University of Iowa


Ex Officio Committee Members

Karen Weck, MD
University of North Carolina

Victoria M. Pratt, PhD
Indiana University Medical Center

Professional Relations Committee Chair
Jordan Laser, MD
North Shore - Long Island Jewish Health System

Executive Director
Mary Steele Williams, MNA, MT(ASCP)SM

Corporate Partners