

Tel: 301-634-7939 • Fax: 301-634-7990 • Email: amp@amp.org • www.amp.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

The Association for Molecular Pathology Announces Award Recipients for 2013

Bethesda, MD, September 17, 2013: The Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP) proudly announces its slate of award winners for 2013. Each recipient was carefully vetted and selected by a distinguished group of AMP leadership. The awards will be presented on Friday, November 15 during the Business Meeting and Awards Session at the <u>AMP 2013 Annual Meeting</u> in Phoenix, AZ. In addition, the Award for Excellence recipient will serve as the keynote speaker for a special session at the Annual Meeting on Thursday, November 14.

"The AMP awards program is vital to the support and growth of the field of molecular diagnostics," said Jennifer L. Hunt, AMP President. "While we hold all AMP members and others in the field in the highest esteem, the winners of these prestigious awards have truly excelled in their work, their dedication to AMP and the advancement of molecular pathology." Details about the awards and the names of the recipients follow:

AMP Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics: Stephen T. Warren, PhD, FACMG

AMP's highest award, the AMP Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics recognizes lifetime pioneering and special achievements by professionals in the fields of molecular biology, molecular pathology, pathology, genetics, microbiology and basic medical sciences, especially as these achievements relate to molecular diagnostics and molecular medicine. Dr. Warren's session during the AMP 2013 Annual Meeting is titled, "Not Just Triplet Repeats: Conventional Mutations of FMR1."

AMP Leadership Award: Jan A. Nowak, MD, PhD

The AMP Leadership Award is AMP's highest award given to an AMP member. It is presented to an AMP member who has consistently demonstrated exceptional leadership in the accomplishment of the mission and goals of AMP. The winner of this award has made notable contributions to AMP and to molecular pathology as a discipline.

AMP Meritorious Service Award: S. Terence Dunn, PhD

The AMP Meritorious Service Award recognizes an AMP member for dedicated service to the organization. The recipient has demonstrated exceptional contributions, over time and often behind-the-scenes, to provide invaluable service to AMP, its membership, and to the profession overall.

Technologist Travel Award: Roger Faubel, BS; Maureen Harazin, MT(ASCP); & Barbara Voss, BS The AMP Technologist Travel Award provides travel assistance to the annual meeting to selected AMP member technologists who do not receive travel support from their institutions.

ICPI Trainee Travel Award: Nora Eve Joseph, MD & Ann Moyer, MD, PhD

The Intersociety Council for Pathology Information, Inc. Trainee Travel Award supports trainee participation in scientific meetings organized by its sponsoring and associate member societies.

ABOUT AMP:

The Association for Molecular Pathology is a not-for-profit scientific society that advances the clinical practice, science, and excellence of molecular and genomic laboratory medicine through education, innovation, and advocacy to enable highest quality health care. For more information, please visit <u>www.amp.org</u>.

CONTACT:

Catherine Davidge cdavidge@amp.org (301) 634-7400