Association for Molecular Pathology

More Information











Home / Awards, Grants & Honors


At the annual meeting, AMP honors individuals at various stages of their careers through several prestigious awards. Each year's award winners are announced online and in the November (Annual Meeting) issue of The Journal of Molecular Diagnostics.


AMP Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics

AMP's highest award, the AMP Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics recognizes lifetime pioneering and special achievements by professionals in the fields of molecular biology, molecular pathology, pathology, genetics, microbiology and basic medical sciences, especially as these achievements relate to molecular diagnostics and molecular medicine.

More Information

AMP Leadership Award

The AMP Leadership Award is AMP's highest award given to an AMP member. It is presented to an AMP member who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the accomplishment of the mission and goals of AMP.

More Information

AMP Meritorious Service Award

The AMP Meritorious Service Award recognizes an AMP member for particularly estimable service to the organization. The Recipient has demonstrated exceptional dedication and effort, over time and often behind-the-scenes, to provide exceptional service to AMP and its membership. In addition, the Recipient generally also provides especially notable service to the molecular pathology profession. The award is not necessarily given annually, but only when it is determined that service exists that warrants this special recognition. More than one recipient may be acknowledged if warranted.

More Information

International Trainee Travel Award

The AMP International Trainee Travel Award provides travel assistance to the AMP Annual Meeting to selected international AMP member trainees (Residents, Fellows, and Students) residing and employed outside the United States who do not receive travel support from their institutions.

This new travel award is for trainees who reside and work outside the United States is made possible by the Jeffrey A. Kant - AMP Education Fund. The fund was established to honor Jeffrey A. Kant, MD, PhD.  Dr. Kant was one of AMP's founding members, its first President, the first recipient of the AMP Leadership Award, a Chair of the AMP Economic Affairs Committee and held many other leadership roles. As a mentor to many in the field of molecular diagnostics, Dr. Kant valued getting trainees into molecular diagnostics, involved in AMP, and facilitating community among AMP members. His tireless commitment to his profession and to AMP has provided a lasting legacy. The intent of this travel award is to provide the opportunity for trainees who reside and work outside the U.S. to explore and engage more in the field of molecular pathology by attending the AMP Annual Meeting. Preference will be given to trainees who do not reside in a high-income country as listed by the World Bank Country Classifications.

More Information


FASEB MARC Travel Award

FASEB MARC Program Travel Awards

The FASEB MARC Program provides funding for travel awards to support the participation of under-represented trainees and scientists who are Poster Presenters (abstract first authors) at the AMP 2014 Annual Meeting. The awards help to defray meeting registration and travel-related expenses (lodging, transportation, per diem) for eligible full-time undergraduate and PhD students, post-doctorates, junior faculty and mentors/faculty scientists who meet specific requirements as being under-represented in the biomedical and behavioral sciences.

Full-time faculty members/mentors, undergraduate/PhD students and post-doctorates meeting the USA citizenship/residency requirements at accredited postsecondary minority institutions and historically black colleges and universities, in addition to under-represented minority trainees at majority institutions are eligible to apply for the travel awards.

All travel award applicants must be USA citizens, or non-citizen nationals, or permanent residents of the USA, and must reside in the USA or USA territories. The FASEB MARC travel awards will provide up to $1,850 in funding for travel-related expenses and meeting registration to each award recipient (in the form of reimbursement after the meeting).


The travel awards are supported by a federal training grant from the NIGMS/NIH - T36-GM08059-32.

For more information and instructions how to apply, please visit the FASEB MARC Program at:

Technologist Award

AMP honors the three best posters submitted by AMP member non-doctoral technologists or medical technologists with the Technologist Award.

More Information

Technologist Travel Award

The AMP Technologist Travel Award provides travel assistance to the annual meeting to selected AMP member technologists who do not receive travel support from their institutions.

More Information

Young Investigator Award

AMP honors the three best posters submitted by AMP member trainees with the Young Investigator Award.

More Information

ICPI Trainee Travel Award

The ICPI Trainee Travel Award supports trainee participation in scientific meetings organized by its sponsoring and associate member societies. A limited number of ICPI Trainee Travel Awards of $500 each are available. The award is intended to offset the travel costs for attending a meeting of one of ICPI's member societies. Awardees must currently be a trainee (medical student, graduate student, resident, fellow) member of AMP.

More Information