Association for Molecular Pathology


October 2010, Volume 16, Number 3


AMP Web Editorial Board

Mary Lowery Nordberg, PhD

By Mary Lowery Nordberg, PhD
AMP Website Editor



As we move closer to the Annual Meeting, I can truly rejoice in the fact that we have successfully redesigned and implemented the new look and feel of! ASIP web staff, Mary Williams, and others on the Web Editorial board have worked hard to bring this project to fruition. With the new look and feel, many of you have already seen the attributes of these modifications. Alas, some of you have even "uncovered" some of the glitches that almost always occur in a project of this magnitude. As a dynamic continuum, we will NEVER completely reach the end of the project, committing to enhance and improve every step of the way. We now have the capability for rapid input and updating with the help of Adobe Contribute. Designated "writers" can author or edit a page directly in a web-enhanced template. Once complete, the authors can send for "Publish", which will then be reviewed and uploaded for all to enjoy. There may be multiple writers, who will submit their content for review, and in turn submit finalized content to website publishers. Introduced to you in the previous Newsletters, the "Content" (or writers) team is comprised of representatives from each of the AMP Subdivisions: Genetics (Ron Przygodzki -, Hematopathology (David Bosler -, Infectious Diseases (Wayne Wang -, and Solid Tumors (George Netto - and Katherine Geiersbach - Other liaisons on the Board are Ted Schutzbank (, Kathleen Murphy (AMP Web Library Editor), and Alexis Carter (AMP Test Directory Editor - Now that the redesign is complete, our next big push is for content assignments and committee/subdivision liaison work. Content editors get your "pens" ready. We will be soliciting content to fill the pages!

I thank members of the various AMP Committees who have agreed to be their committee's liaison to the Web Editorial Board: Laura Tafe, Clinical Practice Committee; Sam Caughron, Economic Affairs Committee; Shelby Melton, Professional Relations Committee; Craig MacKinnon, Training & Education Committee.

As always, if you have suggestions, questions, or want to be more involved, please do not hesitate to contact me or the other members of the Web Editorial Board! We will give you more exciting updates at the Annual Meeting. See you in San Jose (if you know the way)!