Association for Molecular Pathology


October 2010, Volume 16, Number 3


Program Committee Report

Barbara Zehnbauer, PhD

By Barbara Zehnbauer, PhD
Chair, Program Committee


Soon we will be welcoming all of you to the 16th AMP Annual Meeting and Exhibits on November 17-20 at the San Jose McEnery Convention Center in downtown San Jose, CA, centrally convenient to hotels and restaurants. The main attraction for AMP members will be our Annual Meeting program speakers and exhibits. Program Committee members have completed the arrangements to provide an outstanding selection of both topics and speakers that will focus on emerging areas of molecular diagnostics and issues affecting laboratory practice. We have many cross-cutting sessions focused on next generation sequencing (Stephen Quake, Karl Voelkerding, Steve Turner, Madhuri Hegde), clinical pharmacogenetics (Dennis O'Kane, Matthew Goetz, Bryan Dechairo), FDA LDT oversight (Alberto Gutierrez), the NIH genetic test registry (Kathy Hudson), and viral associations in cancer (Joseph DeRisi). Highlights will also include Patrick O. Brown, the 2010 recipient of the AMP Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics and AMP's Andrea Ferreira-Gonzalez receiving the AMP Leadership Award.

We are also very fortunate that so many AMP members will be featured speakers sharing their time and expertise to advance our understanding of our rapidly evolving laboratory practices. The Subdivision leaders have again selected the best abstracts for platform presentations and interactive discussions. Many other excellent studies will be presented in the poster displays and awards will be distributed for Technologist and Young Investigator categories. The AMP Outreach Program for Community Pathologists and the Corporate-sponsored Workshop sessions are both scheduled for November 17 followed by three full days of lectures, workshops, plenaries, and the keynote address. There will be no Sunday sessions.

Please review all the scheduled presentations at

As always this program is developed with the inspiration, insight, and dedication of the entire Program Committee. My deep appreciation is extended to all of these colleagues: Tim Greiner, Charlie Hill, Loren Joseph , George Netto, Arlene Buller-Burkle. Brian Dawson, Dave Persing, Randy Hayden, Steve Cook and Dawn Maghakian, and Jennifer Hunt, the Program Committee Chair-elect, who has already assembled the team to begin the planning for our 2011 meeting. We could not have coordinated all of this without our team in the AMP office including Maricel Herrera, Mary Williams, Kathleen Carmody, and, new this year, Donna Stivers, whose assistance with the abstract review process was greatly appreciated. Special thanks to Mark Sobel for his continued guidance, support, and good judgment.

Equally important and enjoyable are the networking opportunities to reconnect with friends and colleagues, sharing insights and trading perspectives on laboratory business. Do not forget to register for the Friday night Social Event, with Jeff Kant once again leading the organization of these activities. Dinner, music and dancing will once again be featured and we welcome everyone to enjoy the festivities. We are certain that "AMP's Got Talent" will take place again, so bring your enthusiasm and be part of the entertainment!