Association for Molecular Pathology


October 2010, Volume 16, Number 3


Recipient of the 2010 AMP Leadership Award

Andrea GonzalezThe members of the Nominating Committee and AMP Council are pleased to announce Andrea Ferreira-Gonzalez, PhD as the recipient of the 2010 AMP Leadership Award. Dr. Ferreira-Gonzalez is Professor and Chair of the Division of Molecular Diagnostics in the Department of Pathology at the Virginia Commonwealth University. She pursued her graduate education the National University of Cordoba, Argentina, and received her doctorate in Microbiology/Immunology from George Washington University, Washington, DC. She joined the faculty of Virginia Commonwealth University as an Assistant Professor in 1994 and achieved her rank in 2005.

In addition to her various academic accomplishments, Dr. Ferreira-Gonzalez has served on numerous committees, advisory groups and task forces related to molecular diagnostics including the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Genetics, Health and Society, and most recently Chair of the Committee's Genetic Testing Oversight Task Force. Andrea is a long time member of AMP, has served on the Clinical Practice Committee, Economic Affairs Committee and Professional Relations Committee, holding the position in 2001-2003. She was elected President of AMP in 2007 and currently sits on AMP's Professional Relations Committee.

The AMP Leadership Award was instituted to "publicly honor the exceptional accomplishments and notable contributions of an individual who has demonstrated vision and direction for both AMP and the field of molecular pathology". Dr. Andrea Ferreira-Gonzalez is indeed deserving of this award.